Four Noble Truths

The Buddha taught us that there can be freedom from suffering if we just see things as they really are. His core teaching was the Four Noble Truths (Chattari-ariya-saccani) which are as follows:

First Noble Truth:
Life involves suffering (dukkha)

Second Noble Truth
The cause of dukkha is tanha or thirst but more commonly translated as craving. There are three types of tanha: kama tanha or craving for sense pleasures; bhava tanha or the craving to be something; and vibhava tanha or the craving for non being.  All cravings can come about as a result of ignorance.

Third Noble Truth
There is a path to cessation from dukkha.

Fourth Noble Truth
The path to the cessation of dukkha is the Noble Eightfold Path.

Eightfold Path
1. Right View
2. Right Intentions (or Right Thinking)
3. Right Speech
4. Right Action
5. Right Livelihood
6. Right Effort (or Right Diligence)
7. Right Mindfulness
8. Right Concentration